On this page

Search

If you want to clear the data from your course so that you can reuse it with a new group of learners then you may wish to use the course reset feature. 

Resetting a course

  1. From the Administration block on a course click Reset
  2. Complete the settings to choose what items you want to be reset. 
  3. Click Reset course
  4. To confirm you are happy to proceed click Continue.

Course reset settings screen.

You can also click Select default which will automatically select the following settings:

The activity/resource sections will only appear if you have an instance of that activity/resource on the course being reset.

SectionSettings
General
  • Delete calendar events
  • Delete all notes
Roles
  • Unenrol users (Learner role selected)
  • Delete all local role assignments
Gradebook
  • Delete all grades
Certificates
  • Delete issued certificates
Choices
  • Remove all responses
Databases
  • Delete all ratings
  • Delete all comments
Seminar
  • Delete all seminar events
Feedback
  • Reset feedback responses (all ticked)
Forum
  • Delete all posts
  • Delete all ratings
Glossaries
  • Delete all ratings
  • Delete all comments
Lesson
  • Delete all lesson attempts
  • Delete all user overrides
  • Delete all group overrides
Chat
  • Remove all messages
Assignments
  • Delete all submissions
  • Delete all user overrides
  • Delete all group overrides
Quiz
  • Delete all quiz attempts
  • Delete all user overrides
  • Delete all group overrides
Workshop
  • Delete all submissions
  • Delete all assessments
  • Switch to setup phase
SCORM packages
  • Delete all SCORM attempts
Survey
  • Delete all survey responses
  • Delete response analysis

 Settings 

The reset options are broken down by components and activities on the course. You may not see all of the sections listed below, as only activity types that are used on the course will be shown.

In some of the sections you may need to click the Show more... link to see the full range of options. 

General

SettingDescriptionNotes
Course start dateThis setting determines the start of the first week for a course in weekly format. It also determines the earliest date that logs of course activities are available for. If the course is reset and the course start date changed, all dates in the course will be moved in relation to the new start date.-
Course end dateThe course end date is only used for reports. Users can still enter the course after the end date.-
Delete eventsTick to delete all of the calendar events on the course. -
Delete all noteTick to delete all notes on the course.-
Delete all commentsTick to delete all the comments on the course.-
Delete completion dataTick to delete all of the completion data for the course. -
Delete blog associationsIf ticked then blog entries will no longer be associated with this course or any course activities or resources. The blog entries themselves will not be deleted.-

Roles

SettingDescriptionNotes
Unenrol usersSelect the roles you wish to unenrol from the course. You can select multiple roles or no roles.-
Delete all overrides in courseTick to delete all role overrides set in the course. -
Delete all local role assignmentsTick to delete all local role assignments within the course.-

Gradebook

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all items and categoriesIf ticked, all categories and grade items which were manually added to the gradebook will be deleted, together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Only grade items associated with activities will remain.-
Delete all gradesIf ticked, all grade items which were manually added to the gradebook will be deleted, together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Only grade items associated with activities will remain.-

Groups

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all groupsTick to delete all groups on the course.-
Remove all group membersTick to remove all members from groups (allows you to keep the groups).-
Delete all groupingsTick to delete all groupings on the course. -
Remove all groups from groupingsTick to remove all groups from groupings (allows you to keep the groupings). -

Certificates

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete issued certificatesTick to delete all certificates issued on the course.-

Choices

SettingDescriptionNotes
Remove all responsesTick to delete all responses from choice activities. -

Databases

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all entriesTick to delete all database entries.-
Delete entries by users not enrolledTick to delete all database entries made by users no longer enrolled on the course only. Entries by enrolled users will be kept. -
Delete all ratingsTick to delete all ratings for databases on the course. -
Delete all commentsTick to delete all comments for databases on the course. -

Seminars

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all eventsDelete all seminar events and keep seminar description and general settings.-
Delete attendeesClear all attendees, waitlists, and cancelled bookings.-

Feedback

SettingDescriptionNotes
Reset feedback responsesTick the feedback activities you want to reset responses for. -

Forums

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all postsTick to delete all forum posts on the course. -
Delete posts fromSelect the forums you wish to remove posts from. You can select one or more forums. -
Delete all per-user forum digest preferencesTick to remove forum digest preferences for users set on an individual forum basis. -
Delete all forum subscriptionsTick to remove all subscriptions for forums on the course. -
Delete all forum tracking preferencesTick to remove all forum tracking preferences on the course.-
Delete all ratingsTick to delete all ratings for forums on the course. -

Glossaries

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete entries from all glossariesTick to delete all entries from every glossary on the course. -
Delete entries fromSelect which glossaries you wish to delete entries from.-
Delete entries by users not enrolledTick to delete all glossary entries made by users no longer enrolled on the course. Entries made by enrolled users will be kept. -
Delete all ratingsTick to delete all ratings for glossaries on the course.-
Delete all commentsTick to delete all comments for glossaries on the course. -

Lessons

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all lesson attemptsTick to delete all lesson attempts on the course.-
Delete all user overridesTick to delete all user overrides for lessons on the course. -
Delete all group overridesTick to delete all group overrides for lessons on the course. -

Wikis

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all wiki pagesTick to delete all wiki pages on the course. -
Remove all wiki tagsTick to delete all wiki tags on the course. -
Delete all commentsTick to delete all comments for wikis on the course. -

Chats

SettingDescriptionNotes
Remove all messagesTick to delete all chat messages on the course. -

Assignments

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all submissionsTick to delete all submissions from every assignment on the course. -
Delete all user overridesTick to delete all user overrides for assignments on the course. -
Delete all group overridesTick to delete all group overrides for assignments on the course. -

Quizzes

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all quiz attemptsTick to delete all attempts for quizzes on the course. -
Delete all user overridesTick to delete all user overrides for quizzes on the course.-
Delete all group overridesTick to delete all group overrides for quizzes on the course. -

Workshops

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all submissionsTick to delete all submissions from every workshop on the course. -
Delete all assessmentsYou can choose to delete just allocated assessments without affecting submissions. If submissions are to be deleted, their assessments will be deleted implicitly and this option is ignored. Note this also includes assessments of example submissions.-
Switch to the setup phaseIf enabled, all workshops will be put into the initial setup phase.-

SCORM packages

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all SCORM attemptsTicket to delete all SCORM attempts from the course. -

Surveys

SettingDescriptionNotes
Delete all survey responsesTick to delete all response to surveys on the course.-
Delete response analysisTick to delete all analysis of response to surveys on the course. -

Provide feedback about this page using the link in the bottom right of this page. 

 Still have questions? 

Why not post them in the forums on the Totara Community?



  • No labels