If you have multitenancy enabled and tenant isolation turned on then learning plans will not be available.
If you have set up evidence types on your site, Learners can upload evidence for any of their assigned courses or competencies. Once Learners have completed associated courses or provided valid evidence, their manager can mark components of the learning plan as complete.
Note that you will need to ensure that your courses' enrolment methods allow learners to access each course through the learning plan.
When creating a learning plan, you can choose to have learners enrolled in courses that form part of the learning plan.
If the course has visibility restrictions, such as audience-based visibility, the viewer must either be enrolled or have visibility of the course to be able to add it to a plan. If not, they won't see it listed as being available for selection. Role permissions can also affect visibility.
You can add a course to a learning plan, even if the course does not have the learning plan enrolment method added to it yet. However, learners assigned to the learning plan will not be enrolled in the course until the correct enrolment method is enabled. If the learner has visibility of the course (but is not yet enrolled) they will see the following message: "You cannot enrol yourself in this course." Similarly, if the learner does not have visibility of the course, they'll see a message stating that the course is unavailable. In both cases, the learning plan enrolment method needs to be added to allow enrolment via the learning plan. Learners will still be able to see the course in the list of courses within the learning plan.
Adding the learning plan enrolment method to a course (before or after it has been assigned in a learning plan), will not trigger automatic enrolment. The learner will need to click the Launch course button in the learning plan to be enrolled in the course.
For programs, there are no enrolment methods and the same rules apply for visibility as for courses; the user adding the program(s) to the learning plan must have visibility, or be assigned to those they are adding.
The learning plan enrolment method has to be enabled to allow assignment via a learning plan and to enrol in the program courses. This is only necessary if the user accessing the content is not already assigned to the program via another method, e.g. audience, position, organisation. A group assignment won't be listed in the program Assignments tab in this instance, but the following message is visible in the program completion editor: "This user is assigned for the following reasons: Assigned via learning plan".
The Totara Academy has a whole course dedicated to using Learning plans in Totara Learn. Here you can learn more on how to use learning plans, see best practice, and give it a go yourself.
© Copyright 2020 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.