Totara Learn provides an appraisal form builder to allow an administrator to create custom appraisal forms and assign the forms to groups of people within their organisation. Typically the appraisal process takes place over a specific time-frame, so administrators can define specific 'Stages' during which certain actions must be completed. It is also possible to notify participants that actions are required or are overdue.
Appraisal forms are managed site-wide by going to Site administration > Appraisals > Manage appraisals.
An overview of existing appraisals will be displayed, including the name, start date, number of learners assigned, status of the appraisal, and a series of options to edit, copy, delete, or activate the appraisal.
The number displayed in the 'Learners' column have a different meaning depending on the appraisal status.
- Draft: Contains the number of currently assigned users.
- Active: Contains the number of assigned users who haven't yet completed the appraisal.
- Closed: Contains the total number of users who have been assigned at any point while the appraisal was active.
Modify an appraisal
Existing appraisals can be modified until they have been activated and made available to users.
To modify an existing appraisal, select the Settings (pencil icon) button under the Options column.
To duplicate an appraisal, including all of the stages, pages, and elements, select the Copy button. A cloned copy of the appraisal will appear that you can update.
Close an appraisal
If an activated appraisal needs to be removed from the users assigned for some reason, it can be closed. This means that users do not need to complete the appraisal and will stop receiving notifications about it.
Message set to go out after a stage is completed will still be sent.
After an appraisal is closed, it can also be deleted using the Delete button under the Options column.
The Activate link in an activated appraisal turns into a Close link. Note that the delete button is greyed out because an active appraisal cannot be deleted.
- Select the Close link to end the appraisal. The number of users who have not completed the appraisal will be displayed.
- Check Send alert to affected users if users should receive a notification that the appraisal is being closed.
- Enter an Alert title which will be the subject line of the email notification users receive. This will also be the line that appears on the user's dashboard alerts.
- Enter an Alert body which will be the body of the email notification users receive. This will also be available if the user clicks the information icon in the dashboard alerts area to get more detail on the notification.
- Click the Close appraisal button.