You're looking at an older version of Totara Learn.

Please see Totara Learn 12 help for the latest version.

Create a user

  1. Click Users > Accounts from the Site administration menu.
  2. Click Add a new user
  3. Complete the compulsory fields.

    Compulsory fields are indicated by a red asterisk.
     
    The compulsory fields in a standard install are:

    • Username
    • Password
    • First name
    • Surname
    • Email address
  4. Click Expand all from the top-right hand side of the page to view all available fields for the user profile.
  5. Click Create user to save the new user's profile.

View user accounts

A site administrator or role with the appropriate permissions can view user accounts.

  1. Click Users > Accounts from the Site administration menu.
  2. Click Browse list of users.

View a user's profile

A site administrator or role with the appropriate permissions can view a user's profile.

  1. Click Users > Accounts from the Site administration menu.
  2. Click Browse list of users.
  3. Search for and find the user.
  4. Click the user's name to view their profile.

Delete a user account

A site administrator or role with the appropriate permissions can delete a user's account.

  1. Click Users > Accounts from the Site administration menu.
  2. Click Browse list of users.
  3. Search for and find the user.
  4. Click the delete icon next to the user's name to open their account.
  5. You will be prompted to confirm deletion of the user account.

    All associated data, including but not limited to the following, will be deleted and is not recoverable:

    • Appraisals where the user is in the learner role.
    • Grades.
    • Tags.
    • Roles.
    • Preferences.
    • User custom fields.
    • Private keys.
    • Customised pages.
    • Face-to-face signups.
    • 360 feedback assignments and responses.
    • Position assignments.
    • Programs & certifications.
    • Goals.
    • Will be unenrolled from courses.
    • Will be unassigned from manager, appraiser and temporary manager positions.
    • Will be removed from audiences.
    • Will be removed from groups.
    • Messages will be marked as read.

    If you wish to retain any data you may wish to consider suspending the user instead.


  6. Click Delete to confirm user deletion or Cancel if you change your mind.

Suspend/unsuspend a user account

A site administrator or role with the appropriate permissions can suspend/unsuspend a user's account.

To suspend/unsuspend a user's account:

  1. Click Users > Accounts from the Site administration menu.
  2. Click Browse list of users.
  3. Search for and find the user.
  4. Click the suspend icon next to the user's name to suspend/unsuspend the user's account.

Edit a user's profile

A site administrator or role with the appropriate permissions can edit a user's profile.

To edit a user's profile:

  1. Click Users > Accounts from the Site administration menu.
  2. Click Browse list of users.
  3. Search for and find the user.
  4. Click the edit icon next to the user's name to open their profile.
  5. The fields here are self evident; the most frequent reason to access this page is to re-set a user’s password.
  6. Click Update profile to save changes.

Bulk user actions

The bulk user actions feature in Administration > Site administration > Users > Accounts > Bulk user actions enables administrators to select users by creating a filter and then perform any of the following actions:

  • Confirm user accounts created through Email-based self-registration which are not yet confirmed by the user.
  • Send a message (requires messaging to be enabled).
  • Delete user accounts.
  • Display a list of users on a page.
  • Download user data in text, ODS or Excel file format.
  • Force users to change their passwords.
  • Add users to an audience.

To perform a bulk user action

  1. If you know them, choose your users from the available list or else click Show Advanced to create a filter.
  2. Users can be filtered according to full name, surname, first name, email address, city/town, country, confirmed, first access, last access, last login, username, authentication.
  3. If you have set a custom profile field, this is available too from the Profile dropdown box
  4. Select users from the list.
  5. Choose an action from the dropdown menu.
  6. Click the Add filter button.
  7. Select in the box on the left those users you require and move them to the box on the right.
  8. From the dropdown box With selected users, choose the action you wish to perform and then click Go.

Upload user pictures

It is possible to bulk upload user profile pictures in a ZIP file.

Before uploading, you will need to ensure that the image files are named so that they correspond to one of the following user attributes: username, idnumber, id.

For example, if you wanted to use the username attribute then the file for a user with the username user1234 would be named user1234.jpg (with .jpg being the file extension, although you can use other file types). 

To bulk upload user profile pictures, just follow these steps:

  1. From the Administration block go to Site administration > Users > Accounts > Upload user pictures.
  2. Upload your ZIP folder using the File picker
  3. Select the attribute you wish to use to match the files to the users. 
  4. Decide if you want to override existing user pictures or not. 
  5. Click the Upload user pictures button. 

Once successfully uploaded you will get a confirmation message on the screen. 

Active users

This is normally considered to be a user that has logged into the site over the period of the Totara subscription (usually a year).

To display the number of active users for the last twelve months

  1. From Administration menu go to Site Administration > Notifications.
  2. In the Notification panel there will be a message saying X users have logged in to this site in the last year, where X is the number of users.

To display the number of active users for a specified period

  1. From the Administration block go to Site Administration > Users > Accounts > Browser a list of users.
  2. Click Show more under New filter.
  3. Select the date in is after in the Last access field.
  4. Select Add filter.
On this page



Still have questions? Why not post them in the forums of the Totara Community.

  • No labels