You're looking at an older version of Totara Learn.

Please see Totara 15 help for the latest version.

All pages




Search

You can configure a number of user policy settings which determine which default roles are assigned to various users, as well as aspects of how their information is displayed on the site to various people. 

To set the user policies you will need to be a Site Administrator and go to Permissions > User policies from the Administration block. There you can configure the settings listed below to your preferences.

Once you are done remember to click Save changes

Settings

SettingDescriptionNotes
Role for visitorThis is the role that will be given to anyone accessing your site who is not logged in. By default this is the Guest role but you may wish to create your own roles as well. -
Role for guestThis is the role that will be given to anyone accessing your site who logs in as a guest. By default this is the Guest role but you may wish to create your own roles as well. -
Role for learnerThis is the role used for learners on the site. By default this is the Learner role but you may wish to select or create another role-
Role for managerThis is the role used for managers on the site. By default this is the Staff Manager role but you may wish to select or create another role-
Role for assessorThis is the role used for trainers on the site. By default this is the Editing Trainer role but you may wish to select or create another role-
Default role for all usersThis is the role used for all users on the site, along with any other roles they might have. It ensures that the permissions assigned to this role apply to all logged in users on a site level. By default this is the Authenticated user role but you may wish to select or create another role-
Creators' role in new courseWhen a user creates a new course this is the default role they will be automatically assigned to. -
Restorers' role in new courseWhen a user restores a new course this is the default role they will be automatically assigned to. -
Auto-login guestsIf enabled anyone accessing the site as a visitor (not-logged in) will be automatically logged in as a guest and therefore have any associated guest access or permissions. User are not automatically logged in if they attempt to access Administration pages.
Hide user fields

Select any profile fields you wish to hide from users who are not Site Administrators or Editing Trainers.

You may select multiple fields by clicking and holding the Ctrl button on your keyboard and then selecting the desired fields. 

-
Show user identityDecide which user fields you want to display with the user full name in searches and lists of users. -
Full name format

Decide how you wish to display user names. By default this is set to language which allows the language pack to decide, however you can change this using the following place holders:

  • firstname
  • lastname
  • firstnamephonetic
  • lastnamephonetic
  • middlename
  • alternatename

You may use a combination of these, for example firstname lastname will display the first name before the last name e.g. Albert Einstein. Whereas lastname firstname will display the last name before the first name e.g. Einstein Albert. 

-
Alternative full name formatAs above by focusing on how names are displayed to users with the capability viewfullname which includes by default Trainers, Editing Trainers, and Managers.-
Maximum users per pageWhen a user selector is displayed (for example when adding members to a group or audience) this will determine the maximum number of users that can be displayed on one page. -
Enable GravatarIf the user has not added a profile picture then the site will try to find one from Gravatar

Gravatar is an online service in which users can associate an image with their email address for use across the internet. 
-
Gravatar default image URLIf Gravatar is unable to find an image for a user then it will display whatever is set here, this could be a URL to an image or a Gravatar default image using their image codes-

Temporary manager settings

There is a separate section on the page that deals with settings for temporary managers. 

Once you are done remember to click Save changes

SettingDescriptionNotes
Enable temporary managersYou will need to enable temporary managers to use them with job assignmentsDisabling this will remove all temporary managers when cron next runs. 
Temporary manager selectionDecide who is eligible to be selected as a temporary manager from either All staff or Only staff managersChanging this will affect existing temporary managers who do not have the appropriate role. 
Temporary manager expiry daysThis is the default duration of a temporary manager's assignment in days. This can be changed when each temporary manager is assigned. -
On this page



Provide feedback about this page using the link in the bottom right of this page. 

Still have questions? Why not post them in the forums of the Totara Community?