Looking for up-to-date Help documentation? Documentation for the latest releases of Totara is now available at totara.help!

Visit the new Help site

On this page

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Published by Scroll Versions from space THM and version 13

...

  1. Go to Collaborate > Your workspaces from the top navigation bar.
  2. Click the add button () next to Your workspaces in the left-hand panel.
  3. Enter a Workspace name and Description.
  4. Select Public for the Workspace type.
  5. Click Edit image to upload a thumbnail image for the workspace. The image should be 426 x 477px.
  6. Click Create.

Creating a new public workspace.

Note

Note that if a user is deleted, any workspaces they have created will not be deleted. If they were the Workspace Owner you may want to transfer ownership of the workspace to another user. Any contributions created by the deleted user (e.g. resources, playlists and surveys) will be deleted, so you may need to recreate any important contributions in the workspace.

Info

By default, all authenticated users will have the capability to create new workspaces. If you decide to disable this capability site-wide, you can choose to assign the Workspace Owner role to specific users to allow them to create workspaces.

...

  1. Click on the icon of three dots () and select Edit workspace.
  2. Under Workspace type tick the Unhide workspace checkbox.
  3. Click Save changes.
  4. The workspace will not now be visible, but still private.

...

To join a public workspace users can follow these steps:

  1. Go to Workspaces Collaborate > Find workspaces from the top navigation bar.
  2. Browse the list for a workspace you want to join.
  3. Click Join on the workspace thumbnail. Alternatively, click the thumbnail to view the workspace first, then click Join workspace in the right-hand information panel.
  4. You are now a member of the workspace.

...

To join a private workspace users can follow these steps:

  1. Go to Workspaces > Collaborate> Find workspaces from the top navigation bar.
  2. Browse the list for a workspace you want to join.
  3. Click Request to join.
  4. Wait for the Workspace Owner to accept your request.
  5. You are now a member of the workspace.

...

Site Administrators or Workspace Owners (including the workspace's creator) can permanently delete a workspace, meaning members will no longer be able to view the workspace or any discussions contained within it. Users also won't be able to access any files they uploaded to the workspace.

To delete the workspace simply click the icon of three dots (Image Removed) in the right-hand information panel, then select Delete workspace from the dropdown menu. The system will ask you to confirm that you want to delete the workspace.

Warning

Deleting a workspace will result in permanent loss of data, so this decision should not be taken lightly. If you are unsure if you want to delete the workspace permanently, you may prefer to temporarily disable the workspace, as this decision is reversible.

...

As a Site Administrator or Workspace Owner, you can delete a workspace by following these steps:

  1. Go to Collaborate > Your spaces.
  2. Select the workspace you need to delete.
  3. Select the user actions menu in the top-right corner (this will appear as your role, e.g. Owner), then select Delete workspace.
  4. When prompted to confirm, click Delete.

When you delete a workspace this will not happen immediately, but the workspace will instead be flagged for deletion. When the cron next runs an ad-hoc task will be executed to delete the workspace.

Warning

Deleting a workspace will result in permanent loss of data, so this decision should not be taken lightly.

Note

Once a workspace is flagged for deletion it will not be visible to the user, except for in the recipient list of shared resources.

...